Moving Towards Healthier Eating

Posted on June 28, 2011

0


I have to admit, I often forget that food’s main importance is nutrition; to provide the body with energy and nutrients.  Whenever I get hungry, I eat whatever I think tastes best.  This sometimes leads me to overeat and snack on foods that are not beneficial to my diet. It is time to pay more attention to what and how much I am eating.

1)      What you should eat:

  • There are ways to eat healthy and deliciously. Add more vegetables and fruits to your meal. Many people do not like the taste of vegetables; but there are a number of different ways to cook vegetables to bring out the best flavors. Try steaming veggies such as beets, string beans, or broccoli with water and a little olive oil. Add pepper, and some diced garlic. To me this makes the vegetables taste great, but I encourage you to experiment and find out how you like your veggies. We need to get in the mindset that fruits and veggies are not only side dishes but are a main part of the meal.  

2)      How much:

  • The average American needs between 1800-2000 calories each day, depending on weight, height, and age. Many people wait until they are very hungry to eat, which can lead to overeating. Try eating snacks every few hours such as fruit, granola, veggies etc . This will keep your metabolism working and stop hunger during the day. Also, when you do eat meals try to eat smaller portions.

Food affects your life, so pay attention to what you are feeding your body. If you need help managing what you eat, see a nutritionist or primary care physician to help support you. The Mayor’s Health Line can help you find a doctor near you, call us at 617-534-5050.

Also, comment on our blog and let us know your favorite healthy snacks and recipes.

